General Data

   Official Name               : Republic of Kenya

   Capital City                  : Nairobi

   Population                   : 46.05 million (2015)

   Surface Area                : 582,646 km2, (11,230km2 – water; 25,334km2 

                                           National Parks; and 546,082km2 others)

   GDP                             : $63.40 billion (2015)

   GDP growth                  : 5.6% (2015)

   Independence/National Day: 12th December, 1963

   Official Languages          : Kiswahili and English

   Official Currency             : Kenya Shilling

   Main Religions: Protestant, Catholic, Muslims, Hindu, and Traditional Beliefs

   Administrative Structure: National and 47 County Governments

   Main Religions: Protestant, Catholic, Muslims, Hindu, and Traditional Beliefs


Main Economic Sectors: Agriculture and forestry, fishing, mining and quarrying, manufacturing, electricity and water supply, construction, wholesale and retail, hotels and restaurants, transport and communication, financial intermediation, real estate, renting and business services

Natural Resources: Limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones, fluorspar, zinc, diatomite, gypsum, wildlife and hydropower etc.

Kenya is classified as lower middle income economy a status it achieved after rebasing its Gross Domestic Product in 2014. It is the ninth largest economy in Africa, and the fourth largest in sub-Saharan Africa. 

Kenya’s strategic position serves her as a regional hub thus making it easy for traveling into Kenya and therefore appropriate for hosting conferences.

Tourism in Kenya is the second-largest source of foreign exchange earner. The country is well endowed with 22 National Parks, 28 National Reserves and 5 National Sanctuaries. Other attractions include the renowned scenery of the Great Rift Valley; snow capped peaks of Mount Kenya; diverse bird species; and the beaches along the Indian Ocean.

The East Africa Community (EAC)

Kenya is a member of the East African Community (EAC) which is a regional intergovernmental organization of the Republics of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Burundi and Republic of Rwanda with its headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

The EAC aims at widening and deepening co-operation among the Partner States in, among others, political, economic and social fields for their mutual benefit.

Kenya’s membership in EAC provides easy access to the EAC market with about 140 million people.

For more information, visit http://www.eac.int/



The United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON) is one of the four United Nations Centres globally. The other three are based in New York, Geneva and Vienna. Two fully-fledged UN Agencies have headquarters in Kenya namely; the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat). The country also hosts 22 Regional United nations Agencies and provides the organizations with an enabling environment to c arry out their respective mandates.

 United Nations Office at Nairobi


Viale Luca Gaurico 205






For General inquiries: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

For consular matters: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 




Main Office

Monday to Friday

9:00am to 5:00pm



9:00am to 4:00pm

Consular Section/ Ufficio Visti

Monday to Thursday

9:30am to 12:30pm