National Government

The National Government is composed of three arms: The Legislature, The Executive and The Judiciary. Each arm is independent of the other and their individual roles are set by the Constitution of Kenya

  1. The Executive

President of the Republic of Kenya and Commander-In-Chief of the Defence Forces

His Excellency Hon. Uhuru Kenyatta, C.G.H.


Deputy President of the Republic of Kenya

H.E. Hon. William Samoei Arap Ruto, E.G.H.


  1. Legislature 

Speaker of the National Assembly, Hon. Justin B.N. Muturi, MP

Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Justin N Bundi,



Speaker of the Senate, Hon. Ekwee David Ethuro

Clerk of the Senate, Mr. Jeremiah Nyegenye



  1. The Judiciary 

Chief Justice/President of the Supreme Court of Kenya, Hon. David Kenani Maraga

The Chief Registrar of the Judiciary, Ms. Anne Atieno Amadi





  1. Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Maj. Gen (Rtd) Joseph Kasaine Nkaissery
Principal Secretary: Eng. (Dr.) Karanja Kibicho (Interior)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Micah Pkopus Powon (Correctional services)

  1. Ministry of Devolution and Planning

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Mwangi Kiunjuri
Principal Secretary: Ms Mwanamaka Amani Mabruki (Devolution)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Saitoti Torome (Planning)

Principal Secretary: Ms. Josepheta Mukobe (Special Programmes)

  1. The National Treasury

Cabinet Secretary: Mr. Henry Rotich
Principal Secretary: Dr. Kamau Thugge

  1. Ministry of Defence

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. (Dr.) Raychelle Awour Omamo
Principal Secretary: Amb. Peter Kirimi Kaberia

  1. Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Cabinet Secretary: Amb. (Dr.) Amina C. Mohamed, EGH,CAV
Principal Secretary: Amb. Monica Juma, Dphil, CBS

  1. Ministry of Education, Science & Technology

Cabinet Secretary: Dr Fred Okengo Matiangi
Principal Secretary: Dr. Belio Kipsang (Basic Education)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Colleta A. Suda (University Education)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Dinah Jerotich Mwinzi (Vocational & Technical Training)

  1. Ministry of Health

Cabinet Secretary: Dr Cleopa Kilonzo Mailu
Principal Secretary: Dr. Nicholas Muraguri

  1. Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing and Urban Development

Cabinet Secretary: Mr. James Wainaina Macharia
Principal Secretary: Mr. Wilson Nyakera Irungu (Transport)
Principal Secretary: Eng. John K. Mosonik (Infrastructure)

Principal Secretary: Arch. Aidah Munano (Housing and Urban Development)

Principal Secretary: Ms. Nancy Karigithu (Maritime & Shipping Affairs)

Principal Secretary: Prof. Paul Maringa Mwangi (Public Works)

  1. Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology

Cabinet Secretary: Mr. Joe Mucheru
Principal Secretary: Eng. Victor Kyalo (ICT & Innovation)
Principal Secretary: Mr.Sammy Itemere (Broadcasting & Telecommunications)

  1. Ministry of Environment, Natural Resources and Regional Development Authorities

Cabinet Secretary: Prof. Judi W. Wakhungu
Principal Secretary: Mr. Charles Sunkuli (Environment)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Margaret Mwakima (Natural Resources)

  1. Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning

Cabinet Secretary: Prof. Jacob Kaimenyi
Principal Secretary: Arch. Mariamu Ali elMaawy (Lands & Physical Planning)

  1. Ministry of Sports, Culture and the Arts

Cabinet Secretary: Dr. Hassan Wario Arero
Principal Secretary: Amb. Richard Ekai Titus (Sports Development)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Joe Okudo (Arts & Culture)

  1. Ministry of East African Community, Labour and Social Protection

Cabinet Secretary: Mrs. Phylis J Kandie
Principal Secretary: Dr. Khadijah Kassachoon (Labour)
Principal Secretary: Ms. Betty Chemutai Maina (East African Community Integration )
Principal Secretary: Ms. Susan Mochache (Social Protection)

  1. Ministry of Energy and Petroleum

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Charles Keter
Principal Secretary: Eng. Joseph Njoroge (Energy)
Principal Secretary: Andrew Kamau Ng’anga (Petroleum)

  1. Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries

Cabinet Secretary: Mr. Willy Bett
Principal Secretary: Dr. Richard Lesiyampe (Agriculture)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Micheni Ntiba (Fisheries & the Blue Economy)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Andrew K Tuimur (Livestock)

  1. Ministry of Industry, Trade and Cooperatives

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Adan Abdulla, Mohamed

Principal Secretary: Mr. Julius Korir (Investment & Industry)

Principal Secretary: Mr. Ali Noor Ismail (Cooperatives)

Principal Secretary: Dr. Chris Kiptoo (Trade)

  1. Ministry of Tourism

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Najib Balala
Principal Secretary: Ms. Fatuma Hirsi Mohamed

  1. Ministry of Mining

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Dan Kazungu
Principal Secretary: Dr Mohammed Ibrahim Mahmud

  1. Ministry of Public Service, Youth & Gender Affairs 
    Cabinet Secretary: Mrs. Sicily Kanini Kariuki
    Principal Secretary: Ms. Lilian Omollo (Public Service & Youth Affairs)
    Principal Secretary: Zeinab W. Hussein ( Gender Affairs)

  1. Ministry of Water & Irrigation

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Eugene Wamalwa
Principal Secretary: Prof. Fred Segor (Water Services)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Patrick Nduati Mwangi (Irrigation)